Welcome to Lost Nation, Iowa


Lost Nation American Legion Menzo Widle Post 381

511 Main St.
PO Box 415
Lost Nation, IA. 52254-0415
Phone: (563)-678-2447
Commander                                   David Burmeister
Vice Commander                           Harold Hansen
Finance Officer                               Alan Schroeder
Adjutant                                          Don Bartels
Service Officer                                Harold Hansen
Membership Officer                        David Burmeister
Click to view other years
News Room
Calendar of Events
Contact: Webmaster
Lost Nation,Iowa: City Website

Skylar Mullin's of Lost Nation


Skylar  was the 2016 representative to Boys' State at Camp Dodge this summer. Skylar described his week of activities and government to Legion Post #381 veterans and family at the annual soup supper.

Jill Suthers Honored



Jill Suthers   was presented a certificate from Auxiliary

representative Elizabeth Burmeister at the Veteran's Day soup supper.

More than $2500 in poppy sales   has been donated from the Lost Nation

Auxiliary Unit #381.

World War II Vets Honored



#1  is Edmund Sheldon

#2 is Wayne Currier from Maquoketa

#3 is Ted Wiggins from Maquoketa

#4 is Duane Hansen from Maquoketa


Jackson County Veterans Affairs  director presents 4 World War II veterans a military coin to honor their service and sacrifice.

Quilt of Valor presented



Left to Right:  Madge White, Ed Sheldon, Elenor Bentrott


A Quilt of Valor was presented to Edmund Sheldon for his naval service in WW II.  The Lost Nation Community Quilters hope to present a quilt to a veteran each year on Veteran's Day.  Edmund received the quilt at the Lost Nation Legion Post #381 soup supper Friday night.


The Quilts of Valor Foundation started  in Delaware.  Each quilt is quilted, not tied.  They are "awarded," not just passed out.  Each quilt says, "Thank you for your service, sacrifice and valor" in serving our nation in combat.

Vietnam Vets Honored


Front row left to right:  Roger Schnoor, Terry Fairbanks, John Alden, Keith Welch, Joe Fulmer, Harold Hansen, Paul McGonegle and David Eganhouse.

Back row left to right:  Ken Brady, Don Bartels, Craig Muhl, Randy Muhl, Dean Bartels, Dennis Starling, Chris Dona, David Burmeister and Jackson County VA director Terry Creegan. 

     Jackson County Veterans director, Terry Creegan, presented Vietnam War commemoration certificates and lapel pins to fifteen members of Post 381 on Veterans Day 2016.  Each veteran had served on active duty during the period of November 1, 1955 to May 15, 1975.